Home News Vice President Yemi Osinbajo Gets New Appointment From President Buhari

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo Gets New Appointment From President Buhari

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo Gets New Appointment From President Buhari
President and Vice president

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday, approved the constituting of a committee to reform the health sector.

Vice-President, Yemi Osinbajo, has been appointed chairman of the committee which will sit for six months.

The committee is saddled with the responsibility of developing and implementing a health sector reform programme.

Buhari’s senior special assistant on media and publicity, Garba Shehu, confirmed this in a statement.

It read: “This is sequel to a Health Sector Diagnostic Review Report developed by a consultant, Vesta Healthcare Partners and the Federal Ministry of Health

READ ALSO: Stop Fooling Nigerians, We Have Been In Recession Since You Became President- Pastor Giwa Blast Buhari Again

The committee will undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt and factor them into the development of the new Health Sector Reform Programme.

“The committee which is set up for a period of six months under the Chairmanship of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo has members drawn from private and public sector health care management professionals, development partners, representatives from the National Assembly as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum among others.

“Other members are: His Excellency Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Governor of Delta State ; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Honourable Minister of Health; Mr. Alex Okoh Director-General BPE; Prof Ibrahim Abubakar, a Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology at University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health; Mr Babatunde Irukera, Director General, Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Council; Senator( Dr) Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe; Dr. Adedamola Dada; Dr. Sani Aliyu; Dr. Mairo Mandara; Dr. Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga; Professor Uche Amazigbo; Director Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa; Dr Gambo Aliyu.

READ ALSO: Tell Nigerians If Buhari Is Still Alive Or Dead- Pastor Giwa Attacks Pastor Adeboye

Others in the committee are: Dr Betta Edu ( Chairman Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum representing National Council on Health); President Nigeria Medial Association; President Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria; President National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives; President Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro; Dr. Muhammad Sadiq; Dr. Azubike Tagbo and World Health Organization, Nigeria.”

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and Vesta Healthcare Partners will have observer roles in the committee.

Like and follow our facebook page for more update @ Opelrigo Entertainment Hub


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here